Worth the Wait – Landing a Job on Lincoln

***This is a post that I wrote almost exactly one year ago, but never happened to publish. My thoughts were something that I wanted to write down more for myself than any audience, really. It seems clear, in hindsight, that I was very green and nothing short of excited. It’s funny to take a look back now and see how far I have progressed in a year’s time, and how much I have learned since. So, please excuse my present tense for a past due article and, perhaps, you may share the same chuckle that I did when recounting my first impressions from my first major motion picture. Enjoy.***

Just recently I had my first day of my first “real job”. I write that with quotes for two reasons. For one, beginning a career in the film industry, it’s hard for me to think of anything as work or a job because I enjoy it so much that this is what I would do for fun if I happened to be something else, like… a banker. And secondly, no matter how good a production job may be, it still only lasts for a few months before the need to start booking the next gig arises.

It has been at least the better half of a year since I first got wind that Steven Spielberg would be bringing his talents to Richmond, Virginia, where my parents currently live, to film his long-awaited biopic of Abraham Lincoln. It wasn’t until I graduated from Ohio University, though, that the real anticipation began. ‘Hurry up and wait’ is the common title for the game I played for roughly 4 months after I first submitted my resume. But now, after months of waiting, and a few extra weeks of post-interview call backs, I am now proud to say that I am officially working on Steven Spielberg’s, yes, Steven Spielberg’s next film.

Lincoln (2012) – IMDb

In an episode of Seinfeld, George gets a job with the New York Yankees, and in his disbelief Jerry exclaims, “Ruth, Gehrig, DiMaggio, Mantle… Costanza?”

To which George replies, “This is a dream… I’m busting, Jerry, I’m busting!”

I feel like George, right now. (No kidding)

So, as much as I would like to be the provider of some The Dark Knight Rises-esque spoiler info, (Batman-News.com) there is a strict confidentiality policy, and in the interest of keeping my job, I think I’m going to follow the rules. It also just seems like common sense to be courteous and not to spoil the film you’re working on. Instead, I thought I would provide a brief list of things that I’ve learned so far working on this sweet show:

1.) There are a lot of names to learn.

2.) Everyone is pretty friendly. Even the DP isn’t too good to come right up and shake your hand and introduce himself. So, don’t be shy.

3.) Wearing a headset is a quick way to really get a grasp of what’s going on on set.

4.) It feels very official to wear an ID badge with your picture on it.

5.) It’s fun to see actors in costume.

6.) No one is going to yell at you for asking questions.

7.) Never underestimate “Lunch Provided”. Let’s just call it Five Star Dining from 2:17 to 2:47 PM. Oh, and breakfast, too. Get there early. (You should be there early anyways!)

8.) It feels really good to have your name on the same call sheet as Steven Spielberg.

9.) It’s cool to witness the Director working his magic, but it’s even cooler when you wave ‘good morning’, and he waves back.

10.) As much fun as it may be, it’s still a job. Everyone is a professional, so take it seriously.

Well, that’s my life at the moment and I want to thank my family, my friends, and my girlfriend for being supportive and keeping their fingers crossed (and hopefully their arms, legs etc… crossed too) for me.

***Since I was unfortunately unable to attend the crew screening while working on a new project, I will simply have to purchase a ticket just like everyone else when Lincoln hits theaters tomorrow, and then nation wide on November 16, 2012!***

About Robert Nyerges

Robert Nyerges is a filmmaker currently working in the Los Angeles, CA.
This entry was posted in Batman, Experience, Film, Industry, Lincoln, Seinfeld and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

